Reflection of The Hidden Dimension

When I was reading this chapter, I found an interesting section, which calls “HIDDEN ZONES IN AMERICAN OFFICES”. It says that ” like many people, she had a habit of pushing herself away from her desk and leaning back in her chair to stretch her arms, legs, and spine.” I often do the same action as the female in the reading when I’m working on the desk for a long time, especially when I’m working on the computer. I feel that I’m blunt, and my muscle is atrophying. If I don’t stretch my muscle immediately, I’m afraid I’ll be like that forever! Moreover, I totally agree the description, three hidden zones, which exactly describes the scene in the offices. It happens not only in American offices, but it also happens in Asian offices. I have seen many offices like that; the companies want to make the space efficiently and save the rental, so the officers usually have a small space for each of them. For example the Japanese office and Chinese office.

6281445958_c1f921e4b9_z Japanese office

office-space_0 Chinese office

In this section, it also mentions that “what you can do in it determines how you experience a given space”, and it gave an example about the height of a ceiling. The feelings for low and high ceiling are totally different. A low ceiling let me feel pressurized and unrelaxed, and I also feel that there is no enough air to breath. A high ceiling provides me more space to slow down my brain and relax.

Images: https://www.flickr.com/photos/fcad/6281445958/

http://gbtimes.com/life/office-culture-and-business-etiquette-survival-guide

Citation: Hall, Edward T. The Hidden Dimension. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1966. Print.

Leave a Reply

